A haven of peace found in Taiwan.

Published on by claire.bayrasy.over-blog.com

 

 

This year I needed an escape from Beijing during the CNY. I wanted a celebration free of bombing attacks , but most importantly I wanted to have that family spirit for the CNY celebration. Unfortunately I wasn't able to go back to France, so I decided to join my friend and his family in Taiwan to celebrate the new year with them.

Though I've been to Taiwan over 10 years ago, this  time felt like it was my first.

I've heard so many great things about it that I wanted to experience it myself and understand what this excitement over Taiwan was about.

I first stayed in Taichung which is about an hour away by high speed train from the capital Taipei. Taichung is the second largest city of Taiwan, it is a modern city and full of trendy cafes and restaurants. There is definitely a slower pace in Taichung than in Taipei, which is a relief coming from Beijing.  I enjoyed wandering at my pace in the streets of Taichung and not being pushed or bumped into. People are welcoming and helpful when you look for directions and I was surprised to even have strangers greeting me when I walked into the elevator. Something that never happened to me in Beijing.

 

Taiwan is like a smaller version of China where people are just more civilized. I know it may sound rude to Chinese people  and I apologize for that, but it's been close to 5 years that I've established myself in China and it is the first time that I have a feeling of 'peace' when I walk in the streets of a Chinese speaking country. I didn't feel the crowd, no cars honked at me. I just felt more relaxed. I even found that some areas of Taipei looked like Paris, the narrow paved streets, the small alleys and the cafes.

It felt good to have all my senses in alert again, smelling new flavors, tasting different textures and getting lost in new neighborhoods. It was such a great feeling to grab my camera and start shooting again, people, cars, trees, doors, just about anything.

 

 

walkinthepark

 

 

At last but not the least, I would like to thank the Chen Family for having hosted and welcomed me like I was part of their family. Thank you for your generosity and your kindness. During my trip, I've seen amazing landscapes, I've tasted the most delicious food, and I got to know more about Taiwanese people and culture. But most importantly, you guys made me feel home. 

So to the Chen Family, thank you for your madness.

 

Claire

 

 

 

landscape

 

 

 

frame

 

 

 

 

lovingtrees

 

 

 

joshua-tree.jpg

 

 

familybiking

Published on Chinese New Year

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
L
Really loved the post, Hope to experience the environment there also..
Reply