Exploring Zhongshan with my dad

Published on by claire.bayrasy.over-blog.com

 

Last March, I paid my dad a visit in Zhongshan, he happened to be in China for a month.

To get to Zhongshan, I first flew from Beijing to Guangzhou on a 3-hour flight, and then I took the bus, adding another 2 hours to my journey.

When I told my friends I was going to Zhongshan, they all asked me what I was going to do there; implying there was nothing to do in that city. But as soon as I stepped out from the Zhongshan bus station, I knew exactly why my dad loved this place. I could already picture him strolling around with his glasses hanging over his neck, exploring the city, taking a portrait of the hairdresser, chatting with the waitress and enjoying his bowl of noodle soup at the local restaurant.

 

It's always easier to religiously follow a guidebook that pinpoints which monuments to see and what food to eat.

But it takes a lot more imagination to discover a place that is not touristic, and that doesn't have its own edition on the lonely planet guide.

My dad doesn't need a book to tell him where to eat, where to walk or whom to talk to. He only travels by foot because it gives him a sense of freedom.

He would find the antique shop and the cheap hairdresser who gives you a head massage and a shampoo for 3 EUR. Whenever we would go into a store he would already know the owner and stop for a casual chat.

My dad has lived in France for over 40 years now, and while I complain about the pollution in Beijing, he praises the low cost of life in China, the genuine people and the simplicity of life over here. For the past 3 years, he's been trying to come at least once a year to China, but it's not always feasible.

My dad used to be car mechanic and he worked hard all his life, so seeing him enjoying his retirement; traveling, painting, drawing, reading and taking photographs overwhelms me with joy.

He knows how to turn strangers into acquaintances, and he likes to make stuff with objects he randomly finds. Observing him is a constant reminder of how to enjoy the little things that are often taken for granted.

 

Yesterday was his birthday and he just turned 63, to me he's younger than ever.

 

 

 

Zhongshan Park En route-042  

 

 

 

 

Zhongshan Park hills view-125

 

 

 

 

Zhongshan Park trees2-048

 

 

 

Zhongshan Park pere et fils-039

 

 

 

 

 

 

Zhongshan-Park_the-old-woman-and-her-dogs-again-.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

exploring-148.jpg

 

 

 

 

Zhongshan the alley-

 


 

 

 

 

Zhongshan_the-kid-on-the-bike2-.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

Zhongshan_elderly-.jpg

 

Published on Travelling

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post